Twenty Argonauts Earn Division II ADA Academic Achievement Awards

Belmont, CA, August 15 – Twenty student-athletes from Notre Dame de Namur University have been chosen as 2010-11 recipients of the Division II Athletics Directors Association (ADA) Academic Achievement Awards. The Academic Achievement Awards is a program that recognizes the academic accomplishments of student-athletes at the Division II level.

NDNU was one of three Pacific West Conference members to receive recognition, joining Dixie State and Academy of Art. To qualify for the award the student-athlete must have a cumulative grade point average of 3.5 or higher, have attended a minimum of two years at their current institution and have been an active member of an intercollegiate team during the previous academic year.

“We are extremely proud of the accomplishments of these student-athletes.” Director of Athletics Joshua Doody said. “The effort they put in on and off the field is very impressive and they deserve to be recognized for their performances in the classroom.”

The Argos had at least one honoree from nine sports with lacrosse garnering the most recipients with four while women’s soccer and men’s golf had three apiece.

“Congratulations to all of this year’s Academic Achievement Award winners,” stated Division II ADA President Greg Waggoner, director of athletics at Western State College of Colorado. “We want to thank and congratulate those colleges and universities that took part in honoring its student-athletes and look forward to continued participation in the future.”

2010-11 DII ADA Academic Achievement Award Winners from NDNU

Kellen Coffis, Men’s Soccer
Philipp Hoog, Men’s Soccer
Sarah Biser, Women’s Soccer
K.C O’Shea, Women’s Soccer
Taylor  Snider, Women’s Soccer
Stephanie Biehl ,Women’s Cross Country
Hannah Giger, Women’s Cross Country
Trent Henwood,  Men’s Basketball
Rachel Brunson, Women’s Basketball
Brendan Jin, Men’s Golf
Ryan Sheffer, Men’s Golf
Brandon Van Goethen, Men’s Golf
Kyle Hirozawa, Men’s Lacrosse
Greg Bearson, Men’s Lacrosse
Shane Manley, Men’s Lacrosse
Kevin Nguyen, Men’s Lacrosse
Robyn Araujo, Softball
Kristina  Sewell, Softball
Rebecca Corteza, Women’s Tennis
Morganna Thomson-Hayes, Women’s Tennis