Ten Argos Earn WILA Honors, Nguyen Named Offensive Player of the Year

Belmont, CA, May 19 – Ten Notre Dame de Namur University men’s lacrosse players have been named to the Western Intercollegiate Lacrosse Association All-Western Teams. In addition, Kevin Nguyen received Offensive Player of the Year, Matt Fredericks earned Defensive Player of the Year honors and Head Coach Steve Dini was named Coach of the Year.

The Argos led all WILA teams with ten players receiving accolades, placing four on the First Team, two on the Second Team and four Honorable Mentions. NDNU also took home three of the four major awards after taking home the first ever WILA title with a 7-1 conference record.

Kevin Nguyen was named Offensive Player of the Year after an exceptional sophomore season in the midfield. Nguyen led the Argos in points (39) and assists (17), groundballs (57) and face-off wins (64) while finishing second in goals with 22. He finished second in the WILA in points, assists and groundballs and fifth in goals scored.

Senior Matt Fredericks received Defensive Player of the Year honors after leading the Argonaut defense that ranked first in the WILA with a 7.91 goals against average. He was consistently matched up with the opposing team’s top offensive player and finished first on the team in caused turnovers and second in groundballs with 52.

Along with Nguyen and Fredericks, seniors Greg Bearson and Ryan Hulsey were named First Team All-WILA. Bearson led the Argos with 24 goals, tying for second in the conference while adding eight assists. He finished second on the team in total points with 32 and third in groundballs with 41. Hulsey ranked third on the team and sixth in the WILA in goals with 21 while adding five assists.

Senior defender Brandon Miller and sophomore goalie Hunter Adams both earned Second Team honors. Miller, a four year starter on defense, was named NDNU Defensive Player of the Year last month after another stellar season. Adams finished second in the WILA with a 7.98 goals against average. He allowed 110 goals in 827 minutes while making 106 saves.

Derek Kimbrough, Nick Peterson, Johnny Fruehe and Kevin Arabejo all garnered Honorable Mention accolades after helping the Argos to the WILA title. Kimbrough, a junior attackmen finished the season second on the team with 12 assists while placing fourth in goals with 12 and points with 24. Senior Nick Peterson and freshman Johnny Fruehe both earned honors as defensive midfielders. Peterson scored five goals and added two assists while Fruehe grabbed 19 groundballs. Sophomore Arabejo was the third Argonaut defender to be named to a WILA team after appearing in 11 games and finishing fifth in groundballs with 27.

Head Coach Steve Dini was named Coach of the Year after leading the Argos to a WILA title. The Argos finished 7-1 in conference play after winning their first seven games to clinch the crown.